Mission Bay Triathlon

Troy Cundari (1st place) and Craig (2nd place)

Troy Cundari (1st place) and Craig (2nd place)

Craig congratulating Troy on the podium.

Craig congratulating Troy on the podium.

Craig with long time triathlon friends Steve Tally, Troy Cundari and Bill Whitman.

Craig with long time triathlon friends Steve Tally, Troy Cundari and Bill Whitman.

On September 30 I raced the Mission Bay Triathlon near Sea World in San Diego. I had a great race, but got beaten for the 1st time ever by my friend Troy Cundari. Troy has been training and racing hard for 14 years to finally beat me. I did not make it easy for him so it was especially rewarding for him to post the victory. 
 
I did the 500 meter swim in 7:32, putting me in 2nd place and ahead of Troy. This was encouraging to me as he usually beats me in the swim. 
 
I had the 7th best 10 mile bike split with a time of 28:43, but Troy went by me early on. I was 4th off the bike. 
 
I had the fastest 5k run of the day with a split time of 18:19, but I came up 30 seconds behind Troy. My finish time was 57:23 placing me 2nd out of 63 men in the 50-54 age group and 28th out of 1,330 overall finishers.
This entry was posted in 2012, Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

