Ironman Racine 70.3

Craig and Laurie before Ironman Racine 70.3

Craig and Laurie before Ironman Racine 70.3

On July 21st I raced at the Ironman Racine 70.3 in Wisconsin. The 70.3 comes from adding up the 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and 13.1 mile run. Because I’m still dealing with plantar fasciitis, I only did the 1.2 mile swim. My foot is getting better, but it is not ready for such a long run and the last thing I want is another setback. I made the decision to not even bring my bike on the trip. I figured if I brought my bike, I might get caught up in the moment and start the run. And if I started the run, I might end up in a road side ditch – kind of like the Direct TV ads.

My wife, Laurie Kearney, did complete the entire race. This is the 4th consecutive year we have done this race together. And this was the 2nd time that I managed to find her among 2,000+ bodies in Lake Michigan. Laurie started a few minutes before me and I managed to catch her towards the end of the swim. We said hello to one another and continued on. In our past Racine races the lake has been calm, but on this day it was pretty rough. That pleased me as it made me feel like I got a better value for my $240 entry fee. Even though it was the most expensive swim of my racing career, I really did have a good time. I’m a big believer in looking at the glass as half full.

Other highlights of the trip included seeing my family as we combined this event into a family reunion. My family came up from Chicago and we rented a home at Lake Geneva, WI. The night before the race we stayed with my cousin Luke Jacob and his wife, Courtney. That was a lot of fun as we played a key role in helping Luke successfully pull off a surprise birthday party for Courtney. And an added bonus was spending some time with my other cousins Kyle Jacob and his wife Shana, and Joel Jacob and his fiancé Marie.

This entry was posted in 2013, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ironman Racine 70.3

  1. janechdavenport says:

    🙂 great picture! Living the dream!

    Smiles,

    Janech

Leave a Reply

