Lifetime Fitness Triathlon Oceanside

Craig with friends, Gina and Jim Correll at Awards Ceremony for Lifetime Triathlon Oceanside.

Craig with friends, Gina and Jim Correll at Awards Ceremony for Lifetime Triathlon Oceanside.

On Sunday, October 20 I raced my 3rd triathlon of the year at the Lifetime Fitness Triathlon in Oceanside. This was the 11th race in the Lifetime season long nationwide series. I had a good race, despite racing with a group way over my head. I raced in the open men’s elite category and placed 13th out of 16. All of the guys who placed ahead of me were in their 20’s and 30’s. If I had raced in my age group (men 50-54), then I would have placed 2nd out of 16. Sometimes it’s fun to take a walk on the wild side!

The 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim was in the Oceanside Harbor. 2 days before the race a 13.5 foot oarfish washed up dead in the Oceanside Harbor. These giants can grow up to 50 feet and live 3,000 feet below the surface. Thankfully I did not swim into his brother during the race. But I did swim head on into 2 other swimmers. It was extremely foggy so sighting was difficult on the out and back course. Given those conditions, it was very understandable that people would swim off course. My swim time was 24:51. Not very fast for me. I was 10th out of the elite men and would have been in 4th in my age group.

The 40K (24.8 mile) bike course was 2 loops on Hwy 76. The fog and damp cold slowed things down. I did ok as my bike split was 1:11:17 (20.9 mph) on the mostly flat course. This effort was 14th best among the elite men and would have been 6th best in my age group.

The 10K (6.2 mile) run course was 2 loops along The Strand next to the ocean. There were 3 occasions when we had to make our way up a steep climb to get up to the Oceanside Pier. My run split was 42:55 which was 12th best among the elites and it would have been the best against the guys in my age group. My finish time was 2:22:13 and I placed 40th out of 232 overall finishers. The highlight of the race for me was having my wife, Laurie, there to cheer for me on the run course.

This year was the inaugural Oceanside race and it was a lot of fun. I look forward to a bigger and better race next year.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2013, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

