46th Annual San Dieguito Half Marathon

Craig showing off hard earned 2nd place San Dieguito Half Marathon sweatshirt.

Craig showing off hard earned 2nd place San Dieguito Half Marathon sweatshirt.

Start line of 2014 San Dieguito Half Marathon - Craig front and center rockin' the PowerBar gear.  Overall winner Patrick Baldwin near left in red singlet.

Start line of 2014 San Dieguito Half Marathon – Craig front and center rockin’ the PowerBar gear. Overall winner Patrick Baldwin near left in red singlet.

On February 9th I ran the San Dieguito Half Marathon for the 15th time. Over the years this has been one of my favorite races. The course is hilly so it suits my strengths. I was very pleased with my result as I ran 1:23:53 (6:25/mile) and placed 2nd out of 65 men in the 50-54 age group and 18th out of 987 overall finishers.

I had to skip the race last year due to plantar fasciitis so I was chomping at the bit this year. In 2012 I did the race in 1:20:44. I knew I’d be much slower after the long layoff last year. This was going to be my longest run in over a year. I did a run recon of the course 7 days prior to this year’s race. I wanted to see how I’d do on my new foot…which is really an old foot at this point. The recon effort led me to estimate I’d do the race in about 1:26. Race adrenaline is an amazing thing as it enabled me to exceed that estimate by 2+ minutes. Man, I love to race!

The top 3 in each age group get on the podium. All podium finishers win a coveted San Dieguito sweatshirt. It took me 7 attempts at this race before I won my 1st sweatshirt. Now I’m proud to say I’ve earned a collection of 8 San Dieguito podium sweatshirts. The 1st place guy in my age group was Jeff Creighton. Even if I had never been injured, I was never going to beat Jeff as he finished in 1:19:35. I finished comfortably in 2nd place as my triathlon friend Mark Ford came in 3rd to round out the sweatshirt collectors with a time of 1:28:41. Another triathlon friend, Patrick Baldwin, won the overall race in a time of 1:14:43.

This entry was posted in 2014, Half Marathon, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 46th Annual San Dieguito Half Marathon

  1. Karen Labenz says:

    Congratulations, Craig! You are a true inspiration!

  2. Craig Zelent says:

    Thanks Karen! I always appreciate your support. I hope Iowa thaws out soon from this brutal winter.

  3. Denise Bienias says:

    Wow, I knew you would get back to running again, and apparently fast as usual. Great job, Congrats, you can wear your shirt proudly!

    Denise

  4. Sylvia Oesterwinter says:

    Wow Craig!!! You really are inspirational. Thank you for reminding me of what we are all capable of if we put our minds to it. I’m just starting to run again thanks to you. Who cares that I’m 51?! 🙂 Thanks again for sharing your stories and CONGRATULATIONS!!

Leave a Reply

