Glen Ellyn Freedom Four Mile Run

Tim Schertz and Craig

Tim Schertz and Craig

Craig with Yohe family - Megan, Karin and Kent

Craig with Yohe family – Megan, Karin and Kent

Craig and Kent - 1st day of school in 1967

Craig and Kent – 1st day of school in 1967

On July 4th I ran the Glen Ellyn Freedom Four Mile Run. I grew up in Glen Ellyn, IL so this race was a trip down memory lane. The highlights of the day were running into some old friends.

The big surprise was running into my buddy Kent Yohe and his family. Kent and I have been friends since before our first day of school as 5 year olds. Kent and his wife Karin live in the Kansas City area where Kent is a pilot for Southwest Airlines. They were at the race to cheer on their daughter Megan who ran for 4 years at Vanderbilt University. Megan just graduated from Vandy and as I write this has just started her job as a 2nd grade teacher in Bogota, Columbia. Megan is an outstanding runner. I knew I would have my hands full to beat her.

My other reunion was with long time triathlon friends Tim Schertz and Johnny Ratkovich. We planned to meet up at the race, but I was just as excited to see them. I’ve known these guys since the early ‘90’s. Johnny did the race with his kids and Tim spectated.

I got “chicked” twice – by a 17 year old and 14 year old who were the 1st and 2nd place women overall. Despite that, I had a great race as I finished in 23:23. I won the men’s 50-59 age group as I placed 1st out of 88. I finished 17th out of 837 overall finishers. Megan won the women’s 20-29 age group and was the 3rd woman overall with a time of 25:38.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2014, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glen Ellyn Freedom Four Mile Run

  1. Karen Labenz says:

    Wonderful, Craig ! Loved the photos.

    Karen Labenz, Dole Fresh Vegetables

    >

  2. Colin Reid says:

    Great story! Colin

Leave a Reply

