San Diego Triathlon Classic

2nd place Steve Thunder and 1st place Craig Zelent

2nd place Steve Thunder and 1st place Craig Zelent

Craig (top right) with TCSD Ambassador Team

Craig (top right) with TCSD Ambassador Team

On September 6th I raced the San Diego Triathlon Classic. I had done this race 4x’s in the past and was the 1st loser on all 4 occasions. In other words, I finished in 2nd place in my age group every time. As far as local races were concerned this year, winning this race was my primary goal. I was very motivated!

The 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim in San Diego Bay went great. I put my head down and went for it. My swim time was 22:18 which gave me a 3:09 lead over the next guy.

The 40K (24.8 mile) bike course climbs through the Naval Base at Point Loma to Cabrillo National Monument. Taking the route up through the Naval Base is steep so it is a very challenging climb. We did this twice. I had the 3rd best bike split in a time of 1:10:29 (20.3 mph). Little did I know at the time, but I actually had a lead of 1:46 getting off the bike. I usually need to come from behind on the run, but not on this day.

The 10K (6.2 mile) run course is 2 flat laps around Liberty Station. The hilly bike course was tough on everyone, but I managed to save enough energy to still throw down the fastest run of the day, not only among my age group, but across everyone in the entire race. My run split was 38:10. I was the only person to run under 39 minutes and only 4 guys ran under 40 minutes. I was 1st out of 30 men in the 50-54 age group with a finish time 2:13:50. I led wire to wire and won by 3:37 so it was someone else’s turn to be the 1st loser. I was 6th out of 425 overall finishers.

Click on this link to see my race pictures taken by my good friend Osamu and his team:

http://www.opix.net/main/?p=2810&key_word_type=zkn_key_name&key_word=Zelent

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2014, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to San Diego Triathlon Classic

  1. Denise Bienias says:

    Awesome 1st place. I guess that plantar fasciitis is all over with!!

    Denise

  2. Craig Zelent says:

    Thanks Denise! My left foot is a lot better, but it still does not feel as good as my healthy right foot. I’m just so thankful I’ve learned to train a bit smarter and can still run fast when it matters. It’s been a really fun, rewarding year.

  3. Charles Carey says:

    Craig “Louis Zamperini” Zelent!! Love the story. And to finish 6th overall at the age of 52. Wow. Like your California buddy Steve Young, the monkey is now off your back! Have a great week –

    Chas

    >

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Chas! I’m glad you enjoyed Unbroken. I have checked it out of the library and Laurie plans to read it over the coming days. Every runner needs to read that book. I hope you have a great week, too, my friend.

Leave a Reply

