Lifetime Fitness Triathlon – Oceanside

Craig stalking Andy on the run course.

Craig stalking Andy on the run course.

On October 26th I raced my last triathlon for the year at the Lifetime Fitness Triathlon Oceanside. I was relieved that we had good weather for this year’s race. The inaugural race in 2013 was delayed for an hour by fog and it was chilly. This year we had an ideal day. This is one of the best races in Southern California. The race is supported by big sponsors as over $200,000 in prize money was awarded to the professionals.

The 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim was in the Oceanside Harbor. I swam 21:09 (1:18/100 yards) for my fastest Olympic distance swim this year and I came out of the water in 3rd place.

The 40K (24.8 mile) bike course had 2 loops. The 1st loop covering about 15 miles was out and back on Hwy 76 to take us inland. The 2nd loop was an out and back along the bumpy coast road. I much preferred Hwy 76 as the road was very wide and smooth. My friend Andy Seitz passed me with about 6 miles to go. I was happy I was able to hold him off that long. I managed to finish the bike and could still see Andy so I took that as a good sign. I had the 5th best bike split with a time of 1:06:54 (22.1 mph) and this effort put me in 4th place.

The 10K (6.2 mile) run course was 2 laps of 5K each mostly along The Strand so we were right next to the ocean. The run was flat, except for 2 different times when we had to climb up the ramp to the top of the Oceanside Pier. It’s kind of like having to climb 2 flights of stairs when you are already at the limit. It’s not pleasant, but I welcome it because I always make up ground on my competition when the road points up. I managed to catch Andy 2 miles into the run. I was the only guy to run under 40 minutes as my run split was 38:42 (6:14/mile). I had a great race as I passed another guy on the run to finish 2nd out of 27 men in the 50-54 age group and 33rd out of 402 overall finishers. My finish time was 2:09:39 putting me 2:49 behind the winner Todd Witten from Phoenix.

I had never met Todd until we chatted after the race. He told me that a friend of his had warned him about me – that if I was anywhere near him to start the run, he’d be in trouble. Unfortunately I never did get close enough, but he made me feel good by honoring me like that.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2014, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lifetime Fitness Triathlon – Oceanside

  1. Craig,

    Thanks so much for your posts! I truly enjoy reading them! I get twice the Tri races vicariously through you and it is awesome to do so! Keep living the life!

    Be well my friend,

    Matthew Evans

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Matthew. I consider myself very lucky to still be able to train and race. I donated blood last week. Every time I do that I think of you. I hope your back has improved after your surgery.

  2. Karen Labenz Tom Hunt says:

    Outstanding, Craig!  Congratulations! We are headed to IL tomorrow and are going to the IA/IL game in Champaign on Saturday.   I’ll be cheering for the Fighting Illini!  Hope all is well with you and Laurie!  xoox KEL

    From: tricraigz To: keltrh@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, November 12, 2014 8:13 AM Subject: [New post] Lifetime Fitness Triathlon – Oceanside #yiv9339922714 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9339922714 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9339922714 a.yiv9339922714primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9339922714 a.yiv9339922714primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9339922714 a.yiv9339922714primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9339922714 a.yiv9339922714primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9339922714 WordPress.com | tricraigz posted: “On October 26th I raced my last triathlon for the year at the Lifetime Fitness Triathlon Oceanside. I was relieved that we had good weather for this year’s race. The inaugural race in 2013 was delayed for an hour by fog and it was chilly. This year” | |

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Karen. It has not been a good football season for either of us. Illinois’ loss to Ohio State was as much a route as the Bears loss to the Packers – both hard to watch. And you Michigan fans have also taken it on the chin. I think there will be some jobs opening very shortly. Thanks for cheering for my Illini. Have fun at the game!

  3. Denise Bienias says:

    Congrats

    Your running is so fast, you still got it!

    Denise

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Denise. I look at every race as a gift from God. He has certainly blessed me.

      The Ironman telecast is NBC tomorrow. The TCSD got a sneak peak at it last night and it was an excellent broadcast. I would highly recommend that you record it.

Leave a Reply

