Superseal Triathlon

Mike Drury (3rd place  40-44) and Craig (2nd place 50-54)

Mike Drury (3rd place 40-44) and Craig (2nd place 50-54)

On March 15th I raced the Superseal Triathlon at Coronado. This was the 9th time this race has been held, but the 1st time it has been a USA Triathlon sanctioned race. Not all races in the US bother to get sanctioned. It is absolutely my preference to do sanctioned races since they are safer and also factor into the National rankings.

I had a very good race as I placed 2nd out of 20 men in the 50-54 age group and 11th out of 285 overall finishers. I did not get chicked, but it was close as the top woman was only 41 seconds behind me.

I always want to win, but it became apparent when I arrived on race morning that I’d probably be racing for 2nd place. I was greeted by Todd Witten, from Arizona, who had beaten me by nearly 3 minutes at the Lifetime Oceanside Triathlon back in October. Todd had the best swim at Superseal so he led wire to wire. I had the 2nd best swim over the 1,500 meter San Diego Bay course with a time of 21:34. I really had a great swim. My swim training is right where I want it to be.

I was only 34 seconds down after the swim, but Todd extended his lead to an insurmountable 4:09 on the 40K (24.8 mile) bike course. The course was pancake flat so I managed to squeeze out a pretty good bike split 1:05:54 (22.1 mph). I had the 3rd best bike time enabling me to have a comfortable lead of 3:43 over the 3rd place guy.

The 10K run is flat, but there are some sandy sections and it was 80+ degrees so it was tough. I ran it pretty hard, but did not totally go to the well. I had the 2nd best run split of 39:50 to finish the race in 2:10:58. I made up some ground on Todd, but he still beat me by 3:12. After the race one of my friends suggested that we “Tanya Harding” Todd if he keeps traveling to San Diego and winning my races. Tempting, but he seems like a good guy so we’ll let it slide.

During the run I witnessed a man (not in the race) pacing a woman (in the race). This is against the rules. The woman was an excellent athlete and really did not need any help. I recall seeing her win her age group in a race last fall and she did win again at Superseal. If she had been a beginner, I might not have said anything. At the finish line I did nicely suggest to them that the man was pacing her and giving her an unfair advantage. As I confronted them, I learned there was a 2nd woman who was in the race who was in their little group. They all 3 denied my allegations. I did not press the issue. But I have no regrets. I’m glad I spoke up. I was nice with my approach. I hope they’ll think twice the next time. While I waited for the awards I noticed the 3 of them hung around together for the next 90 minutes. That simply confirmed what I had seen. At the end of the day, triathlon is an individual sport.

To see my race pictures taken by my good friend Osamu, click on this link:
http://www.opix.net/main/?p=2923&image_id=91746251489&key_word_type=zkn_key_name&key_word=Zelent

Living the life!

This entry was posted in 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Superseal Triathlon

  1. Karen Labenz Tom Hunt says:

    CONGRATS, Craig!  You absolutely did the right thing to speak up to those ‘cheaters’.  Really?!  They should know better.  Keep up the great racing and writing!  xoxo KEL From: tricraigz To: keltrh@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, March 25, 2015 3:02 PM Subject: [New post] Superseal Triathlon #yiv8306352009 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8306352009 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8306352009 a.yiv8306352009primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8306352009 a.yiv8306352009primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8306352009 a.yiv8306352009primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8306352009 a.yiv8306352009primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8306352009 WordPress.com | tricraigz posted: “On March 15th I raced the Superseal Triathlon at Coronado. This was the 9th time this race has been held, but the 1st time it has been a USA Triathlon sanctioned race. Not all races in the US bother to get sanctioned. It is absolutely my preference” | |

  2. Colin Reid says:

    Nice race! I’m glad you spoke up. Cheaters have no place in any sport or activity.

    I was riding north along Wasatch Dr in SLC this past Saturday. As I approached this intersection:

    [image: Inline image 1] a cyclist that I was gaining on, slowed, then crossed while the light was red. His actions inconvenienced an SUV coming up the hill from the left. I yelled “*Hey Mate, you make us all look bad*!” to him. He turned around and didn’t say anything… The light turned green, and I could see he had slowed a little as he proceeded north. I figured I better have some steam behind me when I passed him. Sure enough, as I went by, he showed how great a human being he is with a mighty “F*&% You!” at the top of his voice. I was so mad, but I completely ignored him, and proceeded home at a higher pace than I was originally planning.

    I’m also glad I spoke up. There is so much friction between cars and cyclists. A-holes like him aren’t helping our cause…

    Cheers,

    Colin

    • tricraigz says:

      Hey Colin, I’ve also had a few instances like that one. That dude showed his true colors. And you are right – he’s not making it any easier for the rest of us. Ride safe, my friend!

  3. Dan Redfern says:

    I enjoyed reading that….a little more humor than usual….good motivation to restart the training.  will text you after the doctor tomorrow. 

  4. James Brenner says:

    Craig, Thanks for sharing. My race days are so far in the past I probably wouldn’t know pacing if I saw it. I am glad you confronted them. Jim

    Sent from my iPhone Jim Brenner

    >

  5. Denise Bienias says:

    Looking good, I like the Tri Club outfit. Still so fast with no pacers!!!!

    Great job.

    Denise

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Denise. You are funny. Yes, I did the race the old school way – no pacers!

      I hope you and Rick are doing well as you continue to smash all the local ElliptiGO records.

  6. Chuck Carey says:

    Top ten percent in your age group; top five percent overall. Z, I can’t say it enough – you are just amazing!

    I’m doing some planning and want to get your big end of summer Chicago event on my calendar. Can you let me know the dates when you get the chance?

    Best,

    Chas

    >

Leave a Reply

