Los Angeles Triathlon Series

Craig with cousin Trevor Goller

Craig with cousin Trevor Goller

Men's 50-54 Podium: Craig 1st place and Chris Dyrek 3rd place

Men’s 50-54 Podium: Craig 1st place and Chris Dyrek 3rd place

On May 9 I raced the Los Angeles Triathlon Series race at Bonelli Park in San Dimas. I had a really good race as I was 1st out of 27 in the men’s 50-54 age group; winning by 4:43. I placed 6th out of 326 overall finishers in a time of 2:21:22.

The race did not start until 8am and Bonelli Park is only 90 miles from my home so I could drive up on race morning. I car pooled with my friend Dan Redfern who happens to be one of the athletes I have been coaching.

The 1.5K (0.93 miles) swim is in a fresh water lake. I had a solid swim as my time was 24:40 (1:38/100 meters). I managed to come out of the water in 2nd place, 16 seconds behind the leader. Dan is 1 age group older than me and he swam 22:21 which is amazing since his wetsuit got an 8 inch rip just before the race started. I wish I could swim like that!

The 40K (24.8 miles) bike course is 3 laps on a hilly course through the park and surrounding neighborhoods. I had the 5th fastest bike split (1:14:56) and averaged only 19.4 mph, but the course is a grind so times are never very fast. My effort put me in 3rd place to start the run.

The 10K (6.2 miles) run course does have a few hills to make it a significant challenge. Some of the course is off road and that section has earned the nickname of the jungle. Somewhere prior to mile 2 I passed my friend Chris Dyrek to move into first place. Chris is an awesome guy that I met way back in 1992 and happened to coach back in 2010. It is great to see Chris is still actively living the triathlon lifestyle. I ran the entire run with Julie Ertel who was the women’s overall champion and the only woman to “chick me”. My run split was 38:22 (6:11/mile) and the best on the day for my age group by 6:05.

After the race I was chatting with Chris when my cousin, Trevor Goller, walked up. I had no idea Trevor was in the race. And low and behold Trevor and Chris are part of the same triathlon club in the Pasadena area called Volt Multisport. And they frequently train together. It really is a small world! It was so great to see both of those guys. That made my day!

To see my race photos, click on this link, then click on “Search” and enter bib #345. http://captivatingsportsphotos.shootproof.com/event/1430964/view#a_search-mason

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2015, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Los Angeles Triathlon Series

  1. Nicole Luque says:

    Hi Craig,

    Your cousin is Trevor??? Small world, I know him and his wife Nicole from the Pasadena Tri Club! And I still wear that same blue PowerBar shirt. 🙂

    Hope all is well with you, Nicole

    >

    • tricraigz says:

      Hey Nicole,

      It’s great to hear from you. That’s cool that you know the Goller’s. I’m not surprised, though, as you are all from the same part of town and happen to have same love for triathlon.

      That PowerBar shirt is probably 10 years old. It was 1 of the 1st tech shirts I ever got and I really like it.

      I hope all is well for you. Good luck to you in your race season!

  2. Craig, nice blog! I’m friends with Trevor and Nicole too. I saw the pic of Trevor and said, ‘That’s Trevor’.

    And well, I’m also friends with NicoleL too. I’m in the Pasadena Triathlon Club with them. Thanks for sharing.

    Joe

    • tricraigz says:

      Hey Joe,

      That is awesome! It is a small world. The tri community is a close knit group. Ya gotta love it!

      Good luck with your 2015 race season.

      Craig

Leave a Reply

