Midnight Sun Marathon & 10K

Laurie's 1st place and my 3rd place awards - and Pup!

Laurie’s 1st place and my 3rd place awards – and Pup!

Finish line in Tromso, Norway.  Note the bright sky at midnight.

Finish line in Tromso, Norway. Note the bright sky at midnight.

On the evening of June 20th I ran in a 10K in Tromso, Norway. Tromso is in the northern part of Norway and only about 1,000 miles from the North Pole. My wife Laurie ran in the main event which was called the Midnight Sun Marathon. We had just arrived from the USA less than 24 hours before our races so we did not have high expectations for good performances. But we both ran surprisingly well.

My race started at 7pm which was like 10am California time. At least the race was happening close to the same time when I would normally go for a run. I woke up at 11am and had an easy day strolling around Tromso. My big question was when should I eat my final meal? I ate light early in the day, but was starving by mid-afternoon. I ate an entire thin crust pizza at 4pm. I had 3 hours to digest that bad boy!

I had a great race! I ran 36:36 to finish 3rd out of 87 men in the 50-54 age group and 31st overall out of 1,840 finishers. 1st place in my age group was only 9 seconds ahead of me. Our age group had a very competitive race as 1st to 4th were separated by only 17 seconds. I rallied late to move into 3rd place in the final 1K and I did manage to keep the pizza down.

After my race I went to dinner while Laurie was running the marathon. At dinner I chatted with Brigt Rodli, the man who came in 8 seconds behind me to finish 4th. It was so cool meeting Brigt. We had shaken hands at the finish line, but over dinner we got to know one another a bit better. This was only Brigt’s 2nd running race. And this guy was flying! His primary sport is skate skiing. He said he’ll do races that are 90K and he’ll cover that distance in 3 hours. So he’s cross country skiing about as fast as I’d ride a bike! Brigt has all of my respect.

This was Laurie’s 219th career marathon. She ran 3:33:49 to win her age group by nearly 7 minutes. She had an amazing race! Laurie’s race began at 8:30pm so she finished just after midnight. The sky was still very bright when she finished. I could have read the newspaper outside at that hour. This was the longest day of the year and we were on top of the world – literally and figuratively. It was so cool!

To see my race photos and video, click on this link: http://www.marathon-photos.com/scripts/event.py?template=MPX2&new_search=1&event=Sports%2F2015%2FMidnight%20Sun%20Marathon&match=4759

To see Laurie’s race photos and video (Laurie’s video is really cool as it was taken on the bridge with a beautiful church in the background), click on this link: http://www.marathon-photos.com/scripts/event.py?template=MPX2&event=Sports/2015/Midnight Sun Marathon&match=192

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2015, Marathon, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Midnight Sun Marathon & 10K

  1. Karen Labenz says:

    Congratulations to you and Laurie, Craig! Outstanding. And such a beautiful setting. Thanks for sharing your stories!

    • tricraigz says:

      Thanks Karen! We loved our trip to Norway and Sweden. I would highly recommend Scandanavia in the summer. I thought of you quite a lot as they have a lot of Lutherans. Much of the time I thought I was in Minnesota or Wisconsin.

  2. Craig,

    Awesome! I hope you like Norway. I’ve visited many times and it is one my favorite countries to visit. I’ve only made it as far north to Trondheim. Thanks again for sharing your racing experiences. It such a joy to read your race reports.

    All the best,

    Matthew Evans

    *Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. Just walk beside me and be my friend. –* Albert Camus

    • tricraigz says:

      Hey Matthew! Thank you for your comment. That’s really cool to hear that you are so familiar with Norway. We also traveled to Sweden as part of the trip. I will post that blog entry in the next couple of days. Scandanavia is awesome in the summer! Stay healthy, my friend!

  3. Chuck Carey says:

    Z,

    Please congratulate the good doctor for me on a very impressive performance!

    Chas

    >

Leave a Reply

