San Dieguito Half Marathon – 2016

Donating my 20th gallon to the San Diego Blood Bank.

Post Race: Donating my 20th gallon to the San Diego Blood Bank.

 

On Valentine’s Day I raced my 1st event of 2016 – the San Dieguito Half Marathon in Rancho Santa Fe. I treat this race pretty seriously and in my warped little mind think of it as the World Championships of San Dieguito. I had a great race as I placed 1st out of 51 men in the 50-54 age group and 9th overall out of 710 finishers. I did get chicked by 1 young lady. My time was 1:23:30 (6:23/mile) and I won my age group by 10:59.

One of the highlights of this race is a special spectator, Queen Elizabeth. The Queen positions herself about 1.5 miles from the start/finish line so we see her twice. The thing about the Queen is I’m not sure if she is a man or a woman. I’ve done this race 17 times now and in the early years I thought it was a guy in drag. Now I think she really is a lady. I have talked to many people over the years and I’m not the only one who wonders.

Another highlight is the chili that is served afterwards. The Queen even made an appearance to eat chili. Part of my motivation to run fast is to get my share. I stopped after just 2 bowls this year.

The chili was critical for me as 3 hours after my finish I made my 161st career blood donation which brings me to exactly 20 gallons donated to the San Diego Blood Bank. Donating blood is easy for me and I do wish more people did it. The only downside is that I feel like I’m pulling a sled during my workouts for the next 7-10 days. But it’s hard for me to pass up the Nutter Butters and orange juice they serve.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2016, Half Marathon, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to San Dieguito Half Marathon – 2016

  1. Colin Reid says:

    Good stuff, Craig. Congratulations! I would donate blood regularly, but they don’t accept my blood because I lived in the UK. In 1987!! They think I have mad cow disease.

Leave a Reply

