Los Angeles Triathlon Series – May 7th

1st place men's 50-54 age group.

1st place men’s 50-54 age group.

 

On May 7th I raced the Los Angeles Triathlon Series Olympic distance race in San Dimas, CA.  I enjoy these kinds of events because they are smaller races with a family atmosphere.  The races are held at Bonelli Park which is only 90 miles from home so I can sleep at home and still arrive in time for the 8am race start.

Southern California had had rain the previous couple of days and I did drive thru some rain on race morning.  Thankfully the skies cleared up nicely at the race venue and we had dry roads.  My biggest problem during the 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim was glare from the sun.  It was not a problem at all.  I was amazed and thrilled it was shaping up to be such a nice day.  I had the best swim as I led out of the water by 1:51 with a swim split of 24:06.  The fresh water lake is wonderful for swimming.

The 40K (24.8 miles) bike course is comprised of 3 laps of just over 8 miles/lap.  The course has plenty of ups and downs so it is challenging.  My bike fitness is not where it needs to be, but I managed to minimize my losses.  My bike split was 1:15:58 (19.1 mph) which was 3rd best, dropping me down to 2nd place.

The 10K (6.2 miles) run course is also hilly and challenging.  Much of it is on trails including a section the locals call “the jungle” so it is a lot of fun.  I had the best run split of the day by 5:22.  My run time was 38:52, giving me a finish time of 2:22:18.  I was very happy with my race as I placed 1st out of 24 men in the 50-54 age group and 14th out of 363 overall finishers.

My good luck continued after the race as I won a gift basket in the raffle.  The basket was a variety of swimming gear – goggles, snorkel, cap, USA towel, and 1 month complimentary masters at a pool 90 miles from my house.  The only thing I wanted was the Aqua Sphere goggles to give to my wife, Laurie, because that is her brand.  I was able to give away all the other stuff.  It’s always nice to be the lucky one and pay it forward.

While I was racing, Laurie was running the Revel Marathon in Las Vegas.  This was her 230th career marathon.  She ran 3:13 – she continues to amaze and inspire me.    

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2016, Marathon, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Los Angeles Triathlon Series – May 7th

  1. Margaret Dillon says:

    Awesome Craig!! You’re the best☺

  2. SLCKiwi says:

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

