Freedom Four

Karin and Kent Yohe and Craig

Karin and Kent Yohe and Craig

1st place men's 50-59.

1st place men’s 50-59.

On July 4th I raced one of my all-time favorite events – the Freedom Four Mile Run in my hometown of Glen Ellyn, IL.  I was back in the Chicago area for the holiday weekend visiting family so I decided to run the race for the 15th time.  The Freedom Four was the 2nd race I ever did, way back in 1982 when I was just a pup.  Now I’ve done over 500 races all around the world.  I’ve come a long way, baby!

I had a very good race on the hilly course.  At about 1 mile into the race another runner asked me my age.  I told him 54 and he said he was 42.  We were both relieved that we were in different age groups.  I let him go ahead because I had no need to chase him.  At mile 2.5 I could hear the spectators cheering for a girl named Lindsey who was moving up behind me.  Uh oh!  At mile 2.75 I passed the 42 year old guy.  I told him “42, you are about to get chicked.”  42 got chicked and soon after I got chicked.  Lindsey won the women’s race and beat me by 32 seconds.  I think this was the 3rd time she’s won the race.  She got a trophy that was at least 2 feet tall.  So jealous!  My time of 23:00 (5:45/mile pace) earned me a tiny medal.  I placed 1st out of 66 men in the 50-59 age group and 15th out of 793 overall finishers.  

My grade school buddy Kent Yohe was also in town visiting his family.  Kent, his wife Karin, daughter Megan and sister Beth were all at the race.  It was great to see all of them.

The #1 highlight of my visit, though, was staying with my 95 year old Mom and seeing my sisters Cindy and Debbie.  We all had a great time.  The good Lord has blessed me.

Living the life…  

This entry was posted in 2016, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freedom Four

  1. Karen Labenz says:

    Wow! 1st! Congratulations, Craig!

  2. Tom Steigelmann says:

    Congrats Z!

Leave a Reply

