LA Tri Series Legends Triathlon

1st place never gets old...even for an old guy!

1st place never gets old…even for an old guy!

On October 9th I raced the LA Tri Series Legends Triathlon in San Dimas at Bonelli Park.  This race will probably be my last triathlon in 2016 so I wanted to finish the season on a positive note.  The race started at 8am so conditions were comfortable at the start, but it did heat up to the high 80’s by the time I finished.

The 1.5K (0.93 miles) swim was in fresh water.  The biggest challenge was going to be the glare from the sun.  The course was a simple counter clockwise oval so it was easy to stay on track.  I had a good swim as I came out the water in 2nd place with a time of 25:18.

The 40K (24.8 miles) bike course was comprised of 3 hilly laps.  I’ve raced on this course a few times over the years and this bike course is always challenging.  I did manage the best bike split of 1:19:38 (18.7 mph) and that moved me up to 1st place, but only by 20 seconds.

The 10K (6.2 miles) run offers a little bit of everything – trails, asphalt, ups and downs.  I had the fastest run split with a time of 41:36 (6:41/mile) to give me a victory by 8+ minutes over 2nd place.  I placed 1st out of 13 men 50-54 and 5th out of 130 overall finishers with a time of 2:29:58.

The race organizers also offered a sprint race called The Express that was about one third the distance of my race.  The Express had 104 finishers.  It is a family run business that puts on a series of races throughout the year.  They do a great job and it gives me great pleasure to support their events.

To see my race photos, click on this link

https://captivatingsportsphotos.shootproof.com/gallery/16LegendTri/search?q=82

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose!

This entry was posted in 2016, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LA Tri Series Legends Triathlon

  1. Colin L Reid says:

    Outstanding effort!

Leave a Reply

