Bonfield Express 5K

My family just a few minutes before the race start.

My family just a few minutes before the race start.

My Mom and I celebrate the Cubs World Series win.

My Mom and I celebrate the Cubs World Series win.

 

On Thanksgiving Day I ran the 13th Annual Bonfield Express 5K in Downers Grove, IL.  The race is held in honor of Jim Bonfield who passed away in 2003 after complications of Hodgkin’s Disease, Leukemia and Rheumatoid Arthritis.  Jim was a teacher, coach and dean of students for more than three decades at Downers Grove South High School. The proceeds from the race benefit local high school students.

It was about 30-35 degrees and typical of the Chicago area at this time of year.  But it was cold for me.  I dressed well for my upper body, but made the mistake of just wearing running shorts.  I felt great until just after mile 2 when my right hamstring cramped up.  Thankfully the cramp did not stop me dead in my tracks.  It just caused me to slow down.  I cruised in to the finish line with a time of 19:36.  I still managed to win the men’s 50-59 age group by 20 seconds.  Most people walk this race so the results are a bit deceiving.  I was 1st out of 402 men in my age group and 87th overall out of 5,229 finishers. 

The event was a lot of fun for me because I was joined by 8 other family members.  And best of all I was able to spend the 4 day Thanksgiving holiday with my 95 year old Mom.

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose!

This entry was posted in 2016, Running Race and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

