Superseal Triathlon

Mark Knaeps 3rd place and Craig 1st place

Craig running like he stole something

On March 19th I raced the Superseal Triathlon in Coronado, CA.  We had been having heavy fog every morning for the 5 days prior to the race so I predicted visibility would be an issue, but we actually had perfect conditions for the race – the tiny bit of fog we had burned off during the swim and it turned sunny.

The 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim was in San Diego Bay.  I was surprised that the water temperatures were pretty warm for this time of year – mid 60’s.  I had a solid swim as I came out of the water in 3rd place with a time of 24:52.  I’m hoping the swim was a bit long because that is a slow time for me, but I was pleased where I ranked.

The 40K (24.8 mile) bike course was 2 loops of the flat, smooth road called The Strand.  Just before half way I got passed by a guy I figured was in my age group.  I later learned his name was Mark.  My goal on the bike quickly became to not let Mark put too much time into me.  I could gauge our separation at the bike turnarounds.  I figured Mark would get off the bike about 3 minutes ahead.  It wound up being 2:48.  I was pretty confident I could make up that ground on Mark, but did not know if there was anyone ahead of Mark.  My bike split was 1:08:51 (21.6 mph) which was the 6th best time, but it dropped me into 5th place.

The 10K (6.2 mile) run was mostly an out and back type of course.  I would get 1 chance near the 3 mile turnaround to assess who was ahead of me.  I estimated that Mark was 1:20 ahead at 3 miles.  I felt confident I could bridge that gap.  Then at mile 4.5 a spectator friend told me I was 40 seconds down.  But pretty quickly after that I caught Mark.  Too quickly.  This had to mean there was someone else further up the road.  I had been killing myself to get to this point.  I was on fumes, but had less than 1 mile to go.  I kept the accelerator down as best I could and finally with about 500 meters to go I passed another guy named Al who was in my age group.  I did not know it at the time, but this moved me into the lead.  I managed to hold off Al and beat him by 11 seconds.  Mark came in 3rd, only 2 seconds behind Al.  So the top 3 were separated by only 13 seconds!  4th place was 7 minutes behind.  Holy cow that was fun!  I had the fastest run of the day and was the only guy to break 40 minutes.  My run split was 37:58 and I finished in 2:16:06.  I placed 1st out of 33 in the men’s 55-59 age group and 37th out of 643 overall finishers.

Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose!

This entry was posted in 2017, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Superseal Triathlon

  1. Colin L Reid says:

    Rock Star you are!

  2. Denise Bienias says:

    So Awesome! That’s all I have to say.

    Denise

    • tricraigz says:

      You sound like Forrest Gump – and that’s all I’ve got to say about that! I hope to see you and Rick tonight at Dave’s retirement party. That should be fun!

Leave a Reply

