LA Tri Series – Championship

Craig (2nd place) and Dominique Chipot (3rd place)

TCSD friend Chris Happ and Craig

On May 13th I raced the LA Tri Series Olympic Distance Triathlon at Bonelli Regional Park in San Dimas.  I had a good race as I placed 2nd out of 14 in the men’s 55-59 age group and 16th out of 212 overall finishers.  I got chicked by 2 women, 1 of whom was former 2008 Olympic triathlete and 2000 Olympic silver medalist in water polo, Julie Ertel.  There’s no shame in that!

I am finding as I age that the most important thing is just getting to the start line healthy.  With all the miles I’ve got on my body after 30+ years of racing, that is no easy trick.  I am learning to train a bit more moderately and just cruise through some workouts and save the big efforts for race day.  10 days prior to this race I hurt my neck lifting weights.  My neck has been a problem for the last 3 years.  It is particularly a problem trying to ride in the aero position on the bike.  So that’s my problem.  I’m sure the other guys my age have their own issues.  It is just a matter of learning how to manage the training to get to that start line.

Enough excuses.  On to the race!  The 1.5K (0.93 mile) swim was in a fresh water lake.  I had a good swim as I came out of the water in 3rd place in 24:20.

The 40K (24.8 miles) bike course was very challenging.  It was 3 laps of a hilly course.  My time was 1:18:07 which was the 4th best bike split and it kept me in 3rd place.  My 2017 bike time was 2:09 slower than in 2016.

The 10K (6.2 miles) run was also very challenging.  It was hilly and off road at times so I loved it.  My run split of 38:55 was the fastest run on the day.  My finish time was 2:24:27.  This was 2:09 slower than 2016 – the same delta as my bike split.

Sean Richardson was the guy who beat me.  We chatted after the race.  He was a very nice guy.  I did have a good race, but Sean smoked me by 9+ minutes.  He finished in 2:14:41.  He said this was going to be his last triathlon of the year.  I’m thinking the year has just started.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2017, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

