All American Sprint Finish

I just got this photo from the 2016 ITU Triathlon World Championships in Cozumel last year.  This was my sprint finish with fellow American Clint Dowd.  I ran into Clint 2 weeks ago at Nationals and he had this photo for me.  I had no idea the photo existed.  Clint and I both had the exact same finish time, but he edged me out with a better lean at the end.  My run split for the 10K was 42:19 while Clint’s was 44:55.  I made the mistake of catching him with about 100 meters to go.  That woke the beast and we had this epic sprint to the line.  Clint said his heart rate peaked at 191 at the finish line.  I’m sure mine was in the same neighborhood.

We both had good races.  Clint finished 16th and I was 17th in the men’s 50-54 age group.  I always want to win.  I wish I could do that race over again.  I would have passed Clint much later to give him no chance to answer.  Oh well.  But that’s not the point.  The point is this is such a cool photo – both carrying American flags and both leaving it all on the race course.  I love moments like that.

Living the life…

This entry was posted in 2016, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to All American Sprint Finish

  1. Skiwi says:

    Great photo!

  2. fittodobiz says:

    this is beautiful. Hey Craig were you at Glorieta Bay yesterday afternoon with a group?

    From: tricraigz To: fittodobiz@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, August 28, 2017 5:30 PM Subject: [New post] All American Sprint Finish #yiv1485129678 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1485129678 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1485129678 a.yiv1485129678primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1485129678 a.yiv1485129678primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1485129678 a.yiv1485129678primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1485129678 a.yiv1485129678primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1485129678 WordPress.com | tricraigz posted: “I just got this photo from the 2016 ITU Triathlon World Championships in Cozumel last year.  This was my sprint finish with fellow American Clint Dowd.  I ran into Clint 2 weeks ago at Nationals and he had this photo for me.  I had no idea the photo e” | |

  3. mike serrin says:

    Congrats BIg Craig,,,,,you did have a much bigger smile than Clint, so you definately were having more painful fun. Great photo, great spirit of racing, you the man,,,,old guy Mike from the Wellness Center

    • tricraigz says:

      Hey Mike,

      My smile was actually a grimace. But you are right – it was a joyful grimace. I know you can relate as you embrace a good sufferfest just as much as me. I’m pretty sure I saw you running along the Coast Hwy in Carlsbad about 3-4 weeks ago. It was a weeknight and I was biking. If I recall correctly, I also saw Tim and/or Darlene about 30 seconds after seeing you. I often see them running when I’m doing my post workday ride. Stay healthy, my friend!

Leave a Reply

